2018 Awards

In order to honour the creativity and ingenuity of the talented filmmakers in the Artifact Small Format Film Festival, we are excited to offer cash awards with support from our generous sponsors.

Best of Alberta

Presented by Calgary Economic Development

2018 Winner: I am sitting in a white room (dir. Lucie Adams)

Best 16mm Film

Presented by IATSE Local 212 

2018 Winner: Nothing to Write Home About (dir. Luz Olivia)

Best Super 8 Film

Presented by Alberta Film 

2018 Winner: White Trash (dir. Jeff Zorrilla & Ignacio Tamarit)

Audience Choice

Presented by ACTRA

2018 Winner: I am sitting in a white room (dir. Lucie Adams)

Awards Jury

Katrina Olson-Mottahed is the Co-Founder and director of the Canadian International Fashion Film Festival (CANIFFF).  A big fan of the Artifact Small Format Film Festival, Katrina loves experimental film. Katrina is an artist, art collector and an advocate for the arts who has become a culture curator and influencer in Calgary. Her unique fine art viewpoint and personal style sets her apart in the fashion and film landscape. Katrina has sat on the jury for the Cinemoi Fashion Film Awards in Los Angeles, CA for the past two years, Bokeh South Africa Film Festival 2017, and the Serbian Fashion Film Festival 2017. 

Murray Leeder is an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Film Studies at the University of Calgary and the author of several books, including Horror Film: A Critical Introduction (2018), The Modern Supernatural and the Beginnings of Cinema (2017) and Halloween (2015). He has also edited Cinematic Ghosts (2016) and ReFocus: The Films of William Castle (2018). He lives in Calgary with his wife and two children.

John Porter is a filmmaker, performer, photographer and writer since 1968, Toronto’s John Porter is one of the most important figures and strongest advocates of Canada’s small-gauge film community. He has made over 300 films, mostly Super 8, and has performed over 100 solo shows internationally. He is also the visiting artist for the 26th Artifact Small Format Film Festival.